Department of Emergency Medicine

Tasmanian Health Service - North West Region

The Emergency Department has an annual attendance rate of over 25,000 patients per year. Approximately 20% of these patients are admitted for further treatment and care. The Department treats a broad range of patients including major trauma cases. The Department is supported by a wide range of specialties and generally only refers a small number of patients out of the region.


There are currently six Fellows of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (FACEM’s) working along with other senior clinical staff. There are six registrar positions available for advanced training in Emergency Medicine. Two of the positions are dedicated ED, and the other four are combined with six months anaesthetics training. The level of FACEM direct supervision and teaching is excellent. The staffing is completed by a range of junior medical officers including four RMOs and one Intern. The nursing staff are excellent and very motivated. They are supported by a full time Nursing Unit Manager and Clinical Nursing Educator.

Education and Training

The North West Regional Hospital Emergency Department prides itself on its teaching program and is serious about education. The ED is accredited by the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine for six months advanced training in Emergency Medicine. The ED is proud of its success in guiding candidates through the primary and fellowship examination. Regular teaching sessions are conducted along with journal clubs, quality assurance programs, and there are supported research opportunities. Medical students from the University of Tasmania are regularly present in the ED. The hospital also has other accredited teaching programs including medicine, surgery, anaesthetics, paediatrics, orthopaedics, and critical care.

The hospital is co-located with the North West Private Hospital and the University of Tasmania Rural Clinical School.

Senior Staff

Director Critical Care Services

Clinical Director of Emergency Department

Five Staff Specialists

One Provisional Fellow

Nurse Manager

Nurse Educator