Tasmanian Health Service

About the Tasmanian Health Service

On 1 July 2015, the Tasmanian Government established the Tasmanian Health Service by amalgamating the three Tasmanian Health Organisations.

The Tasmanian Health Service has been established to improve patient outcomes by delivering better health services to Tasmanians. The establishment of a single statewide delivery structure will improve the coordination of services and reduce duplication in both administrative overheads and clinical support services.

Further information on the formation of the Tasmanian Health Service and other elements of the One State, One Health System, Better Outcomes Reform Program is available here.

The Tasmanian Health Service is governed by the Tasmanian Health Organisations Act 2011, and is responsible for delivering integrated services that maintain and improve the health and wellbeing of Tasmanians.

The Tasmanian Health Service has a clear responsibility and accountability for governing and delivering high quality, efficient and integrated healthcare services, through the public hospital system and primary and community health services (including mental health and oral health services).

A Governing Council oversee the operations of the Tasmanian Health Service and amongst other things, is responsible for ensuring that the organisation provides effective and safe health care to, and improves health outcomes for, persons to whom health services are to be provided.

A single Chief Executive Officer (CEO) leads a management team responsible for the delivery of health services statewide and reports to the Governing Council.

THS Governing Council

The THS has a Governing Council which makes decisions in consultation with the health CEO about how services are delivered.

Governing Council membership

Mr John Ramsay (Chair)

Dr Emil Djakic

Professor Denise Fassett

Dr Judith Watson

Professor Judith Walker

Associate Professor Deborah Wilson

Ms Barbara Hingston

Mr Mark Scanlon

Mr Martin Wallace

  Services areas

Map of the regions of Tasmania