Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards

Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards 2020

The Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards recognise and acknowledge the significant contribution nurses and midwives make individually and/or collectively to the people they care for. The Awards recognise the outstanding professional accomplishments made by nurses and midwives within the public hospitals, the community, public health and primary health care sectors of Tasmania through their practice.

The Excellence Awards recognise nurses and midwives for their:

  • Excellence in practice,
  • Contribution to the delivery of safe, quality care which is evidence based and person centred, and,
  • Leadership and the significant role they play in shaping and delivering a high standard of care within Tasmania’s public healthcare system

Nominations for the 2021 Tasmanian Public Sector Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards are now open.

To learn more please visit the Tasmanian Public Sector Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards webpage.

Welcome Message from our Nursing & Midwifery Leaders

On a daily basis, nurses and midwives are making a difference. They are practicing in a range of professional and clinical settings. They contribute to increasing the body of knowledge which informs and strengthens clinical decision-making, teaching and learning practices, health care outcomes and policy reform. Both professions have a vital role in the delivery of high standards of practice, leading and contributing in the design of innovative models of care, responding to the communities changing health needs, and providing quality care which Tasmanians expect and deserve.

Francine Douce and Coral PatonAs the Tasmanian Chief Nurse and Midwife I am inviting nominations for the Tasmanian Public Sector Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards.

The Excellence Awards are open to all nurses and midwives who are employed within the Tasmanian public sector and are registered with the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. There are several categories open for nominations including a team award.

(L-R) Associate Professor Francine Douce Tasmanian Chief Nurse & Midwife and Coral Paton, Former Executive Director of Nursing (Tasmanian Health Services - South).

Previous Award Recipients

The Tasmanian Public Sector Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards.

NMW Award Recipients The 2019 winners pictured Left to Right

  • Gaylene Bassett: Nursing Practice Excellence - Nurse Practitioner Paediatric Outpatients Specialist Clinics (North West)
  • Sam Beattie: Excellence in Leadership - Acting Nurse Unit Manager John Morris Diabetes Centre (North)
  • Meredith Prestwood: Excellence in New Knowledge, Innovation and Improvement - Community Rapid Response Service Nurse Practitioner (North)
  • Evelyn Larcombe: Midwifery Practice Excellence - Clinical Nurse Educator Midwifery (South)
  • The Honourable Michael Ferguson (then Minister for Health)

Sponsorship Opportunities

If you are interested in sponsoring an Excellence Award please visit the event sponsorship page.

Terms and Conditions

  1. Nominees must be currently employed as a nurse or midwife in the public sector in Tasmania.
  2. You can nominate others or a team. Self-nominations will only be accepted for team nominations. Nominations in more than one category require separate nomination forms.
  3. Only one winner will be chosen from each of the Excellence Award categories
  4. Nominators are required to address the criteria specific for the selected Excellence Award in no more than 250 words per criterion.
  5. All nursing and midwifery team members (where relevant) must hold current registration with the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia.
  6. By accepting the nomination, nominees acknowledge they do not have any conditions or undertakings relating to unsatisfactory professional performance or unprofessional conduct. If a nominee is subsequently found to have conditions or undertakings relating to unsatisfactory professional performance or unprofessional conduct their nomination will be withdrawn.
  7. All nominations will be treated with the strictest of confidence.
  8. All nominations must be the original work of the author and factually accurate.
  9. All nominees must meet the eligibility criteria in full.
  10. All nomination forms must include the contact details of the relevant line manager.
  11. Nominators must complete all relevant details; incomplete nominations will not be considered.
  12. Completed nominations are to be received no later than midnight (AEDT) on 02 August 2021. Any applications received after this deadline will not be considered.
  13. A confirmation email will be sent to the nominator once the submission is received. If this email is not received please check your spam or junk email, otherwise your nomination has not been received. Check the website for contact details re lost submissions.
  14. Only nominees who have been short-listed for consideration as a finalist will be notified. Feedback to all other nominees will not be provided.
  15. The judging panels consists of members with extensive experience in nursing and midwifery and decide on the winner of each category for the Excellence Awards
  16. The selection process for award winners will be conducted under the supervision of the Office of the Chief Nurse and Midwife and the Office of the Statewide Executive Director of Nursing and Midwifery. The decisions of the judging panel will be final, and no correspondence will be entered into.
  17. All nominees will need to provide consent to the use of any media/photos/submissions or any detail for future promotional purposes or publications.
  18. All nominations submitted become the property of the Department of Health (DoH) and the Tasmanian Health Service (THS) and will not be returned, including any photographs or any resources included.
  19. The winner of each award category will be announced at the Tasmanian Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards Function on Friday 19 November 2021.
  20. The Tasmanian Department of Health and the Tasmanian Health Service reserves the right to use any media/photos/submissions or any detail for promotional purposes and publications
  21. It is a condition of entry that finalists and winners are available for publicity opportunities, which may include DoH, THS or external print, digital or TV media.