Food Safety for Auditors

Food Safety for Auditors

The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) has adopted a third party audit model for the regulatory auditing of specific food businesses. Incorporated in the model are:

  • businesses that process food for service to vulnerable persons as covered by Standard 3.3.1 of the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (external site)
  • manufacturers of ready-to-eat meats as covered by Standard 4.2.3 of the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code (external site).

Auditors undertaking regulatory food safety audits of the businesses listed above must:

  • be approved by the Director of Public Health
  • abide by all provisions of Part 6A of the Food Act 2003, including reporting requirements.

People wishing to become approved regulatory auditors in Tasmania need to complete and submit an application form. The minimum qualification for approval is certification against the National Food Safety Audit Scheme Level 4 and, where relevant, additional scopes for cook chill processes and manufacture of ready-to-eat meat products.

List of approved regulatory food safety auditors in Tasmania

Contact us

Call the Public Health Hotline on Freecall 1800 671 738 or email

Updated July 2014